The Animal in Me

Posted: January 6, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

I’m just a pussycat, really,
so why did I explode today –
use words I never use
to a poor defenceless call centre girl?
If I tell all, my blood pressure
will go through the roof again
so I won’t.

Suffice it to say that my bank
gave me the runaround,
passed me from pillar to post
and back again.  It took an hour
to make a transfer no different
from any of hundreds
that I’ve made in twenty years.

This is no poem, it’s a rant.
I did apologise for the language
if not for the rage that caused it.

“Ever have a day when you weren’t quite yourself, or maybe you felt like more than your usual self? Did someone cross you and your claws came out? Or, you needed to find the mustang within yourself and break free? Or perhaps you morphed into mama grizzly or ran with the wolves? On the other hand, you could even have found your inner sloth and spent all day relaxing! Find the animal within yourself, or within a character. We’re going to leave the actual critters at the zoo. I want the beast inside you to come out. Or the animal beauty!” This was the prompt that met my eyes at http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2012/01/fireblossom-friday-2you-animal.html  just after I had put the phone down on the bank, snarling and spitting.  No animal beauty in me I’m afraid.  I used some of my spleen to write what my bank manager Dad used to call a stinker of a letter which I will not send until I’ve cooled down!

Comments
  1. zongrik says:

    great rant. banks are horrible.

  2. Great response to the prompt. Love it!

  3. Marian says:

    rawr! obviously we can all relate. well done.

  4. Doctor FTSE says:

    Good to rant from time to time! Helps us to get back to being normal pussycats!

  5. Oh I have come unglued and acted more animal than human when entangled in red tape….Inhale and find your peace 🙂

  6. Fireblossom says:

    Some pussycat! Few things are more crazy-making than voice mail or dealing with people who speak in paint-by-numbers and then transfer you in circles. Grr!

  7. Writing a letter and not sending it is a great idea. Reading it over tomorrow or the next day (or Monday) is even better.
    I think you let your inner animal out, for sure.

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

  8. X says:

    you must have been speaking to help desk…one of the greatest oxymorons of our time…

  9. Take a deep breath and count to ten, Viv. I won’t even go into the red tape involved in the banks here. It is enough to drive the sane over the edge.

    Pamela

  10. Mama Zen says:

    That is so aggravating! I’ve been known to show some teeth and claw in such situations.

  11. Tilly Bud says:

    They always get it in the neck, don’t they? And the pay is not worth it.

    Hope everything is sorted.

  12. RJ Clarken says:

    I think you just sketched out a scenario that many of us have to deal with. Writing as a way to vent is probably the most healthy thing a person can do, especially when one considers just how powerful words can be. Thanks for stating what I frequently end up thinking.

  13. Laurie Kolp says:

    I like the new look of your blog, Viv. I’m sorry about your encounter at the bank. At least you had a creative way to vent!

    http://lkkolp.wordpress.com/2012/01/06/snap-snap-your-ballerina-throat/

  14. Mary says:

    I’ve been known to do the same when I have encountered frustration with talking to call center people.

  15. jinksy says:

    Count to ten Viv – then maybe try hanging upside down, like me?! ♥

Leave a Reply

