Right or Wrong

Posted: November 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

The first poem for the Poetic Asides PAD challenge prompt today was written straight onto the prompt site.  The second describes how I live my life:  -)

Right or Wrong

Your first two lines
     are perfectly right.
        They describe exactly
            how I usually write.

“I have to write, though it may be wrong
to just start typing and drift along.”

The only other way that I know
     is the poem that comes
        in the middle of the night.
          Write it at once,
              it has to be right.

What would be wrong
      is to have by the bed
          no paper and pen
               to write the song.

 Wrong and Right

A woman’s place is in the wrong,
or so my husband tells me.
I’m not so sure that he is right
but for married peace, I  agree.

 

Comments
  1. Tilly Bud says:

    Now you’re talking!

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    I think the problem is that you have five lines and it needs only four.

  3. Tilly Bud says:

    Viv, the first one perfectly describes the agony of writing when it has to stay in your head. We’ve all lost that perfect piece we were sure we’d remember when we woke up next morning.

    The second one was amusing but the first two lines set a rhythm that I was disappointed you didn’t follow through on.

  4. 1sojournal says:

    Oh Viv, I love both of these. The song that comes in the middle of the night and is lost forever if we don’t write it down. The second one made me laugh out loud. But also marks the difference between you and I. Too much pretending and I was losing myself altogether. Had to leave or never be honest again. Actually became unable to write there. So moved on to a place that would allow me to have that piece of me that is me.

    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

