PC madness

Posted: October 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

Dear Derrick, this morning  http://melrosemusings.blogspot.com/2010/10/political-correctness.html posted a passionate attack on the political correctness society, which unleashed a rant from me, copied here in the hope of starting a rational conversation with other bloggers:-

vivinfrance said…

I feel a diatribe coming on. PC didn’t make a lot of sense when it first reared its ugly head, ostensibly to protect the underdog. Gradually, what little sense there may once have been disappeared under a smother of gobbledegook.Birmingham City Council banned the use of the word Christmas because it might offend the irreligious or those of other faiths, banned competitive sports in schools for fear of upsetting the losers.

Grrr. Where will it end? Could we start a campaign for the abolition of “chair” for chairman? Why would I want to be called a receptacle for bums? Mzz  for Mrs or Miss, and for the whole stupid concept of ‘correctness’ when used in conjunction with the word ‘political’ – a total contradiction in terms.

ViV

Comments
  1. barbara says:

    PC, near as I can figure it, is the negation of the original concept. A passive-agressive spitefest. It is, in essence: Oh, you are asking for a special favor, aren’t you? Well, If I deny it, I’ll be labeled a rotten philistine or worse, so I’ll give you what you asked for in such an unpalatable form you’ll choke on it and good riddance.

    Of course, I’m an old liberal, and believe we ought to treat one another humanely as a matter of course. Apparently a minority view.

    • vivinfrance says:

      I’m not sure I’ve entirely understood your comment, Barbara. If you want me to choke on it etc, you’ve got the wrong end of the stick. My philosophy is, I think, identical to your statement “I’m an old liberal, and believe we ought to treat one another humanely as a matter of course.” It is the OF COURSE that is so highly significant when dealing with these
      mis-begotten laws and bye-laws. OF COURSE they should not be necessary. OF COURSE we should apply common sense to all our dealings, respect others’ points of view, beliefs, gender, whatever. If the politicos would abide by the “Do unto others as you would be done by” “Love thy neighbour as thyself” principles, there would be NO MORE wars, discrimination, power struggles, and all the evils of the world would be at an end. Is this what you meant? It’s certainly my credo.

    • b_y says:

      I think my punctuation got lost in the typeface.
      Probably shouldn’t have used a colon to introduce my hypothetical quote. (and there is something about typing into these little boxes that plays tricks with my already fuzzy logical thinking)

      clarification:

      “Politically Correct”, quotation marks and all, is a borrowing of a term originally used by a small group who indulged in litigious pettifoggery to the point of being obstructive. They were aggressive and vocal and irritated just about everyone on all sides.

      Now, when anyone with a minority viewpoint wants their rights expressed or protected, those who oppose use the term to paint the minority as loud and ridiculous. If these legislators see that by opposing they expose their own narrowness, they see that anything passed is so narrowly defined that it loses meaning outside the smallest possible context.

      I get a little miffed when I see the strategy working

  2. jinksy says:

    Oops – messed up the last sentence in my indignation! I was in the midst of doing an edit, and pushed the OK button too soon. But I hope you can understand what I meant to say, as opposed to what I said…I think… Free speech must rule, OK?

  3. jinksy says:

    Heavens to Murgatroyd! The only PC that should be allowed, is when the letters stand for Personal Computer, and even that is outclassed by a Mac, or so I’m told. It makes you want to swear, for bloody bureaurocrats have all gone bananas! If anybody is so touchy about their reliigious convictions, may I suggest they go to live in a country which has not,
    until now, been unafraid to allow free speech – for speech includes words, in case nobody’s noticed! Shalom!

Leave a Reply

