More on punctuation

Posted: September 24, 2010 in Uncategorized

:

A colon is a useful thing,
It shows the way to lists
and bullet points:

;

half a colon is half-hearted,
a caesura in a poem;

.

half a half a colon –
now there’s a thing –
it brings my poem to a stop.

Colon 2

:
A colon, if transverse,
can be windy
or punctuate, even in Hindi
which might be a curse
and in free verse is worse. 

,

Not a lot of people know that
a comma is a butterfly.
It also can imply
a bit of punctuation
to aid in the creation
of poetical formation.

Comments
  1. trisha says:

    awesome poem. thanks for sharing.

    visiting you from jingle’s TRP (Thursday Rally 4 Poets).

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    I’m not sure what you’re doing wrong. Today is a bit hectic but I will email tomorrow with instructions and you can see if you did it right and we’ll take it from there.

  3. vivinfrance says:

    I have, Tilly, but I can’t make it appear. I’ve cross referenced each of these blogs to each other, as well as including blogs that I follow, but nothing I do gives a visible blogroll on the actual blog. Heeeelpppp.

  4. Tilly Bud says:

    BTW, I have added this blog to my blogroll, which reminds me that you need to add it to your own.

  5. vivinfrance says:

    Not a rant, merely my attempt at conversion of the punctuation heathen.

  6. Tilly Bud says:

    Wonderful, but surely not a rant?

Leave a Reply

