still on the theme of punctuation

Posted: September 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

This is the first of several shape poems in a  PUNCTUATION SEQUENCE

                                         I am an apostrophe
                                            often missing or misplaced 
                                                   in your’s and their’s and other words
                                                                   what an awful waste!
                                                                                I am an apostrophe
                                                                                    why won’t you let me atrophy
                                                                                         when wrongly used 
                                                                                             in it’s and its
                                                                                               in error or in haste.
                                                                                                I am an apostrophe
                                                                                                  source of much controversy
                                                                                                    an out and out catastrophe
                                                                                                     and in the worst of taste.
                                                                                                      I am an apostrophe
                                                                                                     I punctuate correctly
                                                                                                    your poetry
                                                                                                  and prose so
                                                                                                why should 
                                                                                             I be
                                                                                          effaced?

Comments
  1. colonialist says:

    Thats undoubtedly one of your verse’s in good shape!
    Funny how so many shopkeepers and menu writers have this compulsion to add an apostrophe in simple plurals.

  2. Doctor FTSE says:

    Hit the “edit buttoM” eh? Is that the bottum at the buttom, or the buttom at the bottum?
    I then to wory about my speling, befour I bother abart geting the punktuition rite, all rite?

  3. jinksy says:

    My crap typing skills drive me to drink when one appears in the wrong place, simply because my fingers have independent suspension and a mind of their own…

    • vivinfrance says:

      You have my sympathies, Jinksy. I used to be a flying-fingered 100% accurate typist, but my arthritic fingers (too much typing, piano playing and quilting) are not as strong as they were, and I frequently post something only to notice, too late, that various keys simply haven’t registered.

      • 1sojournal says:

        Perhaps, because I have never been a fleet, or even agile typist, when I see those sometimes miniscule errors, my response to the first thought that goes through my head, “Is it really all that important?”, is to hit the edit buttom. Guess clarity is for more important than giving into the frustration. However, that is not true in most other areas of my existence. There, both comfort and ease reign supreme. Perhaps my desire to have at least some bit of balance in my life?

Leave a Reply

