Red,

Posted: September 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

The prompt is to write about a journey into fear.  This one is too painful to put on my regular poetry blog.  The fear is still there: the potential for a repeat is ever present.

Red 

Red for danger, red for fear
dripping, pooling, pouring, splashing
essence of me is wasting here.

Tyres squealing, red car speeding
screeches right up to the door.
Tell the story, show the papers –
muffled words through wads of gauze.

Stern nurse tells ‘me press hard, there’;
takes more red stuff from a vein
for the leeches in the lab.

Wait … wait … then wait again.
Verdict: internecine warfare
between antagonistic drugs.

Into silence, clock is ticking
two am.
‘Drink this up dear’ –
‘Cheers, I say,
and thank you for the vitamin K’.

More long waiting, more red pours
until a haemostat’s applied.

‘Go home and sleep’ were welcome words
En route, the flow intensified.
Red continued through the dawn,
so called the SAMU*

more tense waiting,
cheerful medics mop me up.

At last …

‘It’s stopped,’ I say, ‘can I stay here?’
‘No dear, we must see what’s what.’
What a comfort, ride in splendour,
listening to the blues and twos.
Arriving at the screeching doors
the whole caboodle’s done again.

I’m lying, wanly, wondering why
all force is spent.

*SAMU , French equivalent of UK’s 999 ambulance service.

Comments
  1. brian miller says:

    geez…that is intense…you got my heart going this early in the morning viv…i was right there…i could def feel the fear….i can see by the date its in your past and i hope it stays there….

  2. Oh I was right there with you. So well written. May there never be a repeat!

  3. Morning says:

    playful words on red, love it.

    🙂

  4. Kim Nelson says:

    WOW!
    You’ve managed to turn a horrifying experience into a satisfying piece of prose-poetry. Amazingly well constructed. Imagery is quite strong. Flow is fast and intense. WELL DONE!

  5. Ella says:

    Whoah, scarey red! I felt worried for you~

  6. Mary says:

    Very scary, Viv! Gives me chills to read it.

  7. laurie kolp says:

    That must have been scary… at least it sure does sound that way.

  8. A heavy outpouring of overwhelming fear! The tense, constricted words reflect the mood of the mind re-living moments beyond real comprehension!

  9. derrick2 says:

    Hi Viv,

    Just popped in to see how things are going in your new surroundings! I’m glad there are a few smiles to offset the scary stuff! Santé

  10. b_y says:

    Hello, Viv
    Scaresome stuff. Blood is bad enough when you have actually done something to make it happen.
    Here uninvited. Shoo me away and I’ll go quietly.
    WP is a good choice–“nested” comments don’t seem to be available in Blogger.

  11. nangso says:

    this sounds exhausting…
    thank you for dropping in to the site and stepping into the prompt

    I’m gonna put a new one up this evening
    Feeling the blahness today
    But thank you…and I hope there is no repeat to the above

  12. jinksy says:

    Pardon me for saying – this seems like a bl**dy awful experience!

Leave a Reply

